Advisory Board

Center of Concern Advisory Council

Civic-minded residents who serve as strategic thought leaders to further the mission of the Center of Concern. Members of diverse backgrounds come together as collaborators and catalysts for representing their specific knowledge area in the Community to advocate for the needs of residents served by Center of Concern’s human services programs.

Advisory Council Job Description

May be ongoing, with no specific term, or may be specific to the needs of the Center of Concern

Annual Meeting (once a year)


  1. Advisory – Does not set policy but recommends actions or policies to the Board of Directors and/or Executive Director and staff;
  2. Education – Takes the initiative to become knowledgeable about the agency, programs, and policies of the organization;
  3. Communication – Maintains open communication with staff and other advisory board members;
  4. Support – Provides positive support of the organization offering advice and recommendations as needed
  5. Ambassador – provides positive interaction in the community on behalf of the Center of Concern

Time Commitment:
Varies, but generally is 1-2 hours a month


Dirk T. Ahlbeck, CPA

Hon. Anthony W. Arredia

Former Mayor, City of Des Plaines, Maryville Academy Administrator

Hon. Andrea Rundblad Bateman

Former Alderman City of Park Ridge, Allstate Insurance

James B. Blue

Retired Captain, United Airlines

Aaron Borg

Hon. Carl F. Brauweiler

Treasurer, Retired City of Park Ridge

Eugene T. Carter

Chairman & CEO, Park Ridge Community Bank

Hon. Mary Childers

Realtor, ReMax

Jan Christiansen, MSW

Pavilion Senior Center, Village of Wheeling

Hon. Tom Christiansen

Former Alderman, City of Des Plaines

Hon. William K. Dammeier

Deputy Assessor, Norwood Park Township

Hon. Frank J. DePaul

Former Alderman, City of Park Ridge

Kim DiFranco

Former Board Member, The Center of Concern

David Donovan

Insurance Broker, D.D. Donovan & Sons Insurance Agency

Judy Donovan

Friends of the Library Board, Park Ridge Community Fund Board

John F. Endres

Electrical Engineer, Retired

Rev. Dr. William G. Grice III

Senior Minister, First Congregational Church, United Church of Christ

William H. Haley

Attorney Law Offices of William H. Haley

Mary Frances Hegarty

Attorney, Hegarty, Kowols & Associates

Hon. Betty W. Henneman

City Clerk, City of Park Ridge

Hon. John Kerin

Chicago Stock Exchange

Jay Kuchel

Insurance Broker, Retired

Richard G. Larsen

Attorney/Partner, Larsen & Edlund

Karen Larsen

Owner, Generation Connection

Lawrence Lusk

MBF Legal

Hon. Michael MaRous

President, MaRous & Co. Former Mayor, City of Park Ridge

Michael McAllister

Vice President, Northern Trust Bank

Millie O’Brien

Park Ridge Community Fund

Charlotte Ogorek

Owner, Administrative Manager Ogorek & Associates

John E. Owens

Attorney/President, Owens, Owens & Rinn, Ltd.

John J. Pembroke

Owner/President, John J. Pembroke & Assoc. L.L.C.

Ms. Ann Scheller

Account Executive Journal & Topics Newspapers

Robert Soske

CEO, Retired, Press Tech

Hon. Maureen Strauts

Attorney/Partner, Martin, Craig, Chester & Sonnenschein, LLP

Hon. David Sullivan

Illinois State Senator, retired, Partner, Raucci & Sullivan Strategies, LLC

Hon. Carol Teschky

Supervisor, Maine Township

Adrienne Timm

Director, Social Service Ministry, St. Paul of the Cross Church

Hon. Richard Whalen

Principal/Partner, Deloitte